Review: Tiffany’s Blue Box Cafe at Harrods

Breakfast at Tiffany’s is possible, my friends, and can be yours for £39. The Blue Box Cafe located on Harrods Lower Ground is the only Tiffany & Co cafe located outside of Fifth Avenue, New York. Currently the flagship location in NYC is closed for renovations until 2021, but was the most booked restaurant in 2019, so make your way to London quick.

How to Get There: 

The entrance to the Blue Box Cafe is a little tricky to find and is separate to the main entrance of Harrods, this is especially important if you have a morning reservation before Harrods opens.  Make your way to Hans Crescent Road and look for Laduree. You will find the Blue Box Cafe entrance shortly nearby. Look for the infamous robin’s egg-blue plant pots and awning. If you arrive when Harrods is open, you can also enter through their main entrance and take the lifts to the Lower Ground. Upon entering the doors on Hans Crescent you will make your way down two sets of dimly lit stairs and find yourself inside a room filled with Tiffany’s blue. The cafe is designed to resemble the inside of a Tiffany’s jewellery box.

PhotoCollage_20200714_182545683

What’s it like inside? 

The Blue Box Cafe is intimate, with approximately 10 tables, and is currently accepting reservations until August 2nd 2020. The tables are spaced out just so to allow for social distancing and the staff were excellent, very welcoming and timely with the service. Reservations are recommended, though a small availability for walk-ins can be accommodated on a first-come, first-serve basis.

PhotoCollage_20200714_182844065

How about the food?

Your menu choices include breakfast, afternoon tea or dinner and drinks. We opted for breakfast without champagne which was priced at £39. I feel this is a reasonable price for such an experience and would really recommend the breakfast to anyone visiting. The food was also beautifully presented and tasted delicious.  The fruit bowl was light and fresh with the mint-lime syrup and my Eggs Florentine were perfectly seasoned.  I often feel that places like this can be a disappointment when it comes to the food, but I really enjoyed everything I ate.  There is no detail overlooked with everything being Tiffany’s.  From the tea cup and saucer to glassware and salt and pepper shakers. It’s all Tiffany’s and the tableware alone probably costs more than your car.

PhotoCollage_20200714_182443135

 

What about Coronoavirus?

Due to the ongoing Covid-19 situation, the toilets in the cafe are not available, but there are nearby options available in Harrods which the staff will happily point you to in the right direction.  We were not required to wear a mask and hand santiser is available at the main entrance and as you enter the cafe.

 

Is it family friendly?

Yes, I know people who have visited with their children and they do provide a lovely colouring set, however it’s a small space and I preferred to visit without my 3 year old so I could actually have a conversation with my friend and enjoy the food.  I didn’t see any others with children during my visit, so this may be something to keep in mind.  I do think the staff would be welcoming, but if you have a little one who struggles to sit still I would say to leave them at home.

PhotoCollage_20200714_182301140

 

Would I recommend?

Overall, I’d definitely recommend a visit to the Tiffany’s Blue Box Cafe at Harrods. It’s perfect for a special occasion or just celebrating life. Have you been? Let me know if you plan to visit!

 

Leave a comment